Doodling with Manga Studio

Finger Smear BlackAs I mentioned in an earlier post, I haven’t been creating much lately.  I haven’t even managed to get much Japanese done because I’ve been busy with family commitments.  I’m hoping to get really stuck into my new graphics project (using Manga Studio) in two or three weeks.  In the meantime I thought I’d share the tiny bit of doodling I’ve been doing.  The first one was created by “painting” stripes of colour on a black background and then smearing them together with the “Fingertip” tool.   I love the effect it produced.  Do you like it too?

frances1The second doodle is based on a photo (one of many) that a friend gave me to do arty things with.  She’s a beautiful dancer and I want to be able to capture some of that beauty in my art.  I used this picture to practice using a feature in Manga Studio called “layers”.  This lets you have blocks of colour in one layer of the picture and shading in another layer.  It means that you can change one without messing up the other.

There are all sorts of things wrong with this picture but it’s okay for a doodle!

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Beautiful!
    Although I have known the “Fingertip” tool, I have not known it can give such a beautiful effect as you did!
    Also your painting is very elegant and brilliant.
    It looks like a water sphere is rising from midnight sea.
    I love it!

    I think you are busy now, I hope you take care of yourself.
    Best wishes,

    Like

    • Thank you Ryoko-san. I’m glad you like it. I was surprised at how easy it was to produce the effect. I love the colours. It’s a lot less messy than painting too!

      By the way, did you get my message in Lang-8? I wasn’t sure whether you had received my reply or not.

      I hope you are well.
      Best wishes to you too.

      Like

  2. I like both “doodles,” but the top one really caught my eye. It looks like a chrome or glass sculpture that is reflecting into a pool of water in front of it. It’s really cool looking! By the looks of both photos, you’re really getting the hang of Mango!

    Like

  3. You alwyas suprise me with another new talent evry time you post !!

    Like

  4. Great for a doodle or anything else:)

    Like

  5. That’s your idea of just a “doodle?” It’s beautiful – such talent! I can’t even draw a straight line…

    Like

    • 😀 Thank you. You’re very kind.
      I suppose I think of a doodle as something you get when you’re just playing around with a pen in your hand. In this case the pen just happened to be linked to a computer. They turned out much better than I expected. I was surprised. But I didn’t show you the ones that didn’t work!

      Like

  1. Pingback: New program for programs! | Bloodwind Studios

  2. Pingback: More Manga Studio Messing | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

