Origami Binge Running Out of Steam

pinkinprogress I started two more models from the book by Meenakshi Mukerji.  The first photo shows the inside of the “whipped cream star” model when it was just over half built.  I had to use glue again.  The pieces would probably have stayed locked together better if I had made the units from bigger rectangles.  However, I wanted to see if I could make it small.whipcrmstar  The finished model (second photo) is about the size of a billiard ball.

The other model I started making (third photo) was from the same book but it was by a guest writer called Tanya Vysochina.  The model is called Lily of the Nile and is really beautiful.  Unfortunately, the instructions on how to make it are a little sketchy.  There are virtually no clues on how to put the units together into the shape of an icosahedron.  lillyinprogressAs you can see, I was making some progress but I started getting frustrated.  I had decided to use small units for this one too and that meant it was getting very fiddly.  Also, the paper I used is not very good and the blue dye was coming off onto my fingers.  It was starting to not be fun any more so I’ve given up on it for now.

I have no more models planned except for the big “Golden Venture” model which I am still making units for.  I think my binge is exhausted.

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Origami and Papercraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. First those are amazing I can’t begin to imagine the patience it must take I am curios what kind of paper do you normally use ?

    Like

    • Thanks. I have special square origami paper that I bought via Amazon. However, for the modular origami, ordinary A4 printer paper seems to work better. My local shops have printer paper in quite a lot of different colours.

      Like

    • It’s a shame you don’t use YouTube because there are loads of instructional videos on there. I found a cube video on there for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FkCWqYOTn6c. It doesn’t have voice instructions just video. If that’s too tricky let me know and I’ll try to find another one.
      You’ll need to cut your printer paper into squares. I tend to do this by first cutting strips of the width I need by folding parallel to the long edges. Then I fold the short edge along a diagonal so that it lies directly on top of the long edge (hard to explain without a picture). You can then cut a square off the strip by cutting across where the edge of the triangular flap lies across the strip. This video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpB1TDtAX84 – shows you how to make squares.

      Like

      • Thanks for the into Sarah I can’t look at them now because the WiFi I am on is to slow. I saw all the suggested links under the first site

        Like

  2. Your work is beautiful!! I love it! 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow, that’s awesome. Glue or not!

    BTW, I played around a bit with the unit origami from raczor’s page; I however, haven’t built anything of significance. But at least I feel comfortable with the technique 🙂

    Like

  4. These are gorgeous! Incredible really. I smiled when I read how you stopped when it was ‘starting to not be fun anymore’ (what with blue dye coming off and all!). Those are wise words for anything we do for fun, like when the mosquitos chase me out of my garden. I may love gardening but when those pesky tiny beasts starting making it not fun anymore, it’s time to retreat! Thanks for sharing your wonderful crafts, and your great commentary. I can hardly wait to see what creative outlet you’ll find next! Hugs, Gina

    Like

  5. Did you attempt the Dahlia model from the preceding pages? It looks to have similar construction.

    Like

  6. You are quite the Artist, Sarah! Origami is great stuff. And You have created beautiful pieces. Kudos. 🙂

    Like

  7. Reblogged this on Anglo Saxon Celt Creates and commented:

    Another old (June 2013) origami post:

    Like

  8. Those are amazing. Beautiful and well…amazing. Works of art, each and everyone.

    Like

  9. Don’t stop – they look amazing! 🙂

    Like

  10. my jaw is hanging open!!!!
    what a beauty !!
    🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: I Cracked the Lillies | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates

Leave a Reply

