Goodbye Hagrid

Autumn2007

When we first met, you were very hungry and quite small.  You brought your sister with you.

cuddle2008

I will miss your big inscrutable eyes.

relax2008

You knew how to relax. I admired that.

cuddle2009

You loved to cuddle up to your furry friends but you’d spare the occasional hug for me.

AlbusAndHagrid2013
You were always very quiet, and easy to share a seat with.

Dear Hagrid,

You’ve been missing since Thursday morning and I don’t think I’m going to see you again.  I hope you are in a happy place.  I will miss you very much.  I will miss the way you used to grunt instead of purring and how you could only manage the tiniest meow when you were feeling particularly misunderstood.  I will miss your softness and your “tail hugs”.

Goodbye Hagrid

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. :<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

    Like

  2. I am so sorry for your loss 😦 Our beloved pets are so strongly in our hearts.
    Thinking of you and sending strength. Gina

    Like

    • Thank you. You’re very kind. I think writing about it helped a lot. I’ve never done that before. It was good to be able to share all the good things he brought into my life.

      Like

      • That is wonderful, and I know what you mean. Also, your photos are delightful and were a perfect addition as well.

        Like

      • I’m a visual person really, not a writer, so my blog is always going to have lots of pictures. 😀
        I was sorry to read about your own pet troubles. I hope that you and your dog are coping okay with the new challenges you must be facing. It sounds as though writing about it helped you too. Thank goodness for blogging and the support it brings.

        Like

      • Bless your heart Sarah! Yes I am still learning, and trying to not be sad about it. Thanks for your kindness 🙂

        Like

      • But don’t try too hard to not be sad. Isn’t it all part of the adjustment we have to make when someone leaves us or can’t do the things they used to be able to do with us? It’s okay to be sad during this process of adjustment. Being sad doesn’t mean we’re being weak or not coping. Time will heal things when we’re ready. I’m sure you know all this already but I thought I’d say it just in case you needed a reminder.

        Like

      • You are a wise and beautiful soul and I thank you for this excellent reminder. I did need to hear that! xo

        Like

      • I’m so glad.

        Like

  3. Hi Sarah, Did Ingrid show up yet? I’m sorry. Seeker.

    Like

    • Thanks Seeker. No, he’s in kitty heaven now I think.

      Like

      • Hi Sarah, Just wondering if he is really in kitty heaven or someone else has Ingrid.

        Like

      • It’s possible I suppose but there is no shortage of cats out here in rural Ireland. People would have no trouble finding unwanted kittens to adopt instead.

        Like

      • Thank you for responding Sarah. I visited Ireland many moons ago. Beautiful place. Which part of Ireland are you from.

        Like

      • I’m in the middle of nowhere really. The nearest city is Galway. Have you been there? It’s quite small but it has a lovely atmosphere. Did you visit Knock Shrine? Lots of people pilgrimage there.

        Like

      • Yes, I stayed in Galway and took a boat ride to spend time in Aaran (sp) Island. I missed Knock but my siblings went. I went on my own pilgrimage with a good friend. We went on a retreat at Chrysalis, County Wicklow. I”ve never seen so much shades of green in Ireland. You are in God’s country.

        Like

      • It’s not quite so green now after the amazing dry summer we’ve just had. 🙂

        Like

  4. I am very sorry, and I am sure Hagrid was very happy with you.
    I shed tear to read your message for Hagrid.
    He was very cute and handsome. My chest feels tight.
    I wish Hagrid is happy still now, and I wish something would heals your sorrows.

    Like

    • Thank you for your very kind thoughts. I’m sure Hagrid would have been pleased to be called handsome! We always complimented him on his good looks but he pretended not to hear. He was very modest. 😀

      Like

  5. So sorry about Hagrid……..I shed a tear when reading the post about him….I am definitely a cat person and know how you feel, we had to have our cat Bubble put to sleep 2 years ago, but was the best thing for him, heartbreaking for us though. Im sure he is chasing all those birds in kitty heaven.

    Like

  6. Okay you had me laughing and cooing at the pictures and then sad at the end — but your first picture — the cats looked just like my previous two cats (Friskies and Whiskers) I’ve chosen to think happy thoughts of our kitties having their happy mouse-chasing dreams in heaven — together. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Like

  7. How to give a ‘like’ for a Loss! My Sympathies. I have missed Friends of this sort too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

