The Origami Binge Continues

gardenJune3When I haven’t been in the garden (weeding mostly) and doing chores, I’ve been folding paper.  I’ve been feeling guilty about not spending more time in the garden though.  The sun has been shining harder and longer here in Ireland than it has done for years (dare I say within living memory).  I feel like I need to make the most of it while it’s here.  But I’m not used to it.  After a while I start turning pink and flopping around like a Dali watch.

twinboat icosahedronI’ve found a few more nice modular origami models on YouTube.   The first one, on the right, is a “twinboat icosahedron“, along with one of its units (on the right of the photo).  On the left of the photo is the supply of triangular units I have built up since my last origami post.  (Only a few thousand left to go…)   tetrahedraplusslinkyThe second YouTube model is “5 intersecting tetrahedra” by Thomas Hull.  I’ve only made two of the tetrahedra so far (see photo on left).  The pieces on the right of this photo are the beginnings of an origami slinky by Jo Nakashima.

12pieceball1Those last two models are going to take me a while to finish so in the meantime I wanted something quicker to do.  I found this last model on a blog.  It looks good with patterned paper 12pieceball2but I wanted to see how it turned out using plain coloured paper.  Not too bad.

I just tried to make a beautiful orchid from “Origami Design Secrets” by Robert J. Lang but I had to give up for now.  It was too tricky.  I made a few models (hummingbird, lizard and pegasus) from this book but my versions are a bit rubbish so I haven’t photographed them.  I think I’ll stick with modular origami for now.

Posted on June 9, 2013, in Origami and Papercraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Anglo Saxon Celt Creates and commented:

    My second origami post (Jun 2013):

    Like

  2. Super cool. I bet you wish you had that warm sunshine in the garden today.

    Like

  3. Really incredible art!

    Like

Leave a Reply

