My Motif It Has 3 Corners, 3 Corners Has My Motif

Particular of a crochet hook

Particular of a crochet hook (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is about the triangular motif that I showed in my previous post.  The instructions below are copied from a page that I saved from a knitting magazine (I couldn’t get a magazine devoted to crochet in my hometown) in the eighties.  I can’t remember the name of the magazine and there is nothing on the page that allows me to give due credit to the designer of this motif.  Anyway, it’s not mine; I’m just passing it on for non-commercial use.

Here goes (UK notation):

6 ch, ss in 1st chain to form a ring.  Now the rounds:

  1. 12 dc in ring, join with a ss to 1st dc.
  2. 5 ch, miss 1st dc, [1 tr in next dc, 2ch] 11 times, ss in 3rd of 5 ch.
  3. ss in 1st sp, 3 ch, leaving last lp of each st on hook work 3 tr in same sp as ss, yrh, draw through all 4 lps [5 ch, leaving last lp of each st on hook work 4 tr in next sp, yrh, draw through all 5 lps] 11 times, 2 ch, 1 tr in top of 1st cluster.
  4. [5 ch, ss in next 5-ch sp] 11 times, 2 ch, 1 tr in 1st of 5 ch at beg of round.
  5. [*5 ch, 1 tr in centre ch of next 5-ch sp, 10 ch, 1 tr in top of last tr, 1 tr in centre ch of same 5-ch sp as before, 5 ch, ss in centre ch of next 5-ch sp, 7 ch, ss in centre ch of next 5-ch sp*, 7 ch, ss in centre ch of next 5-ch sp] twice, work from * to *, 4 ch, 1 tr in 1st of 5 ch at beg of round.
  6. *7 ch, 8 tr in 10-ch sp, 8 ch, ss in top of last tr, 8 tr in same 10-ch sp, [7 ch, ss in centre ch of next 7-ch sp] twice, rep from * twice working last ss into 1st of 7 ch at beg of round.  Fasten off.

I hope I transcribed it correctly.

Happy hooking.  😀

Posted on June 4, 2013, in Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I just know the chain stitch.

    Like

    • The other stitches aren’t much harder than chain if you can find someone to show you how. I bet there are loads of tutorials on YouTube. If you’re interested I can try to find a good one for you.

      Like

  1. Pingback: African Flower Owl | Anglo Saxon Celt Creates Art and Craft

Leave a Reply

