Coming to terms with being a nerd

Geeks vs NerdsI know many people who love adventures.  The kind of people who get their kicks from jumping off bridges with a bungee rope attached to their ankles, scuba diving in coral reefs, hang gliding over canyons, that kind of thing.  People find adventurers interesting and admirable.  I used to feel that I ought to try to be adventurous too.  It was something that I aspired to.  If only I had the money, I could be like them too…

I went up in a glider once.   I tried to force myself into a state of awe at being up in the air with no engine.  It didn’t work.  The bang I got on the elbows when we landed cancelled out any positive feelings I had about the experience.  I pretended that I had enjoyed it but I wouldn’t bother to do it again.  At the time, I blamed my lack of enthusiasm on the fact that it didn’t really feel like I was flying.  I couldn’t feel the wind in my face so it was hardly better than watching a video.  I convinced myself that hang gliding would be much more fun.  However, now that I’m older and know myself better, I’ve realised that any good feelings I might get from hang gliding would be more than cancelled out by the anxiety of the preparatory stage and the fear involved in launching myself and controlling the flight and so on.  I’m the opposite of an adrenaline junkie.

I get excited by folding paper.  My favourite way to relax is to watch an episode of almost any of the Sci-Fi/Fantasy series known to man or to read a Sci-Fi/Fantasy book.  I have a degree in Physics and a Masters in Medical Physics.  I was employed as a computer programmer for 8 years.  Heavy engineering makes me smile like a loon, even though I have two X chromosomes (as far as I know).  However, up until recently, I have been in denial about my nerd status.  Thanks to origami though, I have come to embrace my nerdiness.  I love spending hours repetitively folding little pieces of paper so that I can build something of no practical use whatsoever.  I don’t really know why I enjoy these things, but I’m finally letting go of my resistance and going with the flow.  I’m following my bliss, even though adventurers might find it a little odd.

Related post: http://slackprop.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/on-geek-versus-nerd/

Posted on June 1, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Nothing better than being an adventurous nerd. Welcome to the clubhouse 🙂

    Like

  2. Great post…I draw and paint while watching Science Fiction:) My Master’s is in Women’s Studies/Political Science so I’m always going for someone’s throat. LOL

    Like

  3. I too am a nerd. I thought I was going to starve to death and die from lack of sleep when Hulu put up all the episodes of all the Star Treks series for one week to watch for free. I didn’t get them all in but I can guarantee nothing else got done that week. At least by trying the glider you can stop wondering what you might have missed if you never tried it. Just like my sailing or should I say capsizing lesson. 😀

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Anglo Saxon Celt Creates and commented:

    Instead of playing intermission muzak I’m reblogging my old posts to fill the space while I concentrate on my latest project. Here’s my second post on this blog:

    Like

  5. At last, out of the blue, a post showed up from you. Hooray! I am looking forward to moving down your blog and reading more of this particular series. I’m a a nerd and quite happy about it. My husband is a nerd. My cat is a geek but there ya go. Cheers to finally getting posts from you.

    Like

    • Yay, we’re reconnected! And yay for geeky cats! Our cats are not really into gadgets or sci-fi but they like wildlife programmes and show an interest in pizza and balls of wool. 🙂

      Like

      • Sam.Cat the Ripper ‘ s favorite place to nap is between the puter keyboard and monitor, a touch activated mouse that lights up, squeaks, and races about in circles is his favorite toy, and vertical “rock” climbing up the kitchen door and shelves keep him fit. I think he listens to Fitz and the Tantrums on the M.P.3 as well for that has appeared as Sam’s playlist…the boy is a geek but he seems to enjoy the Original Star Trek series and identifies with Scottie. I call him in from outside and add…NOW…But he only mumbles, I’m moving as fast as I can…

        Like

      • 😀 I’d love to meet him. Our lady cat also keeps some warp drive in reserve when it comes to walking through doors. She hates being hurried so much that she has recently added a new rest-stop on the route to-and-from bed and food bowl. The route includes a human-powered door, and she won’t move until we’re all nicely settled down again. Some of our previous cats worked out how to open the door for themselves but this lady likes the royal treatment.

        Like

      • He is a wild boy, to be sure. Right now he is in his place, between keyboard and monitor, sound asleep and looking innocent…My cat pugsley certainly walked through doors and walls….he was a sweet, magical boy.

        Like

      • Walking through walls?!?

        Like

      • Yeppers. My husband swore he did. We hear him roaming around and then suddenly, there he was on the bed, bedroom door closed. He was quite a kitty

        Like

      • Wow! O.O Quite a kitty indeed.

        Like

      • I think he was the sweetest cat I ever had. A gentle, loving, and brave little soul.

        Like

      • He sounds purrfect. ❤ I wish I could have met him.

        Like

      • Well, I believe that one day, we shall see once again those we loved and went before. So who knows? We might also meet each other, and those we loved and so on. I look forward to the day all of us are together in love and spirit.

        Like

      • I hope you’re right. Look out for me when you get there and we can have a hug. I’ll be the one saying sorry to all the slugs I killed before I decided that they deserved better! I’m hoping that the ones I killed with beer will admit that it was not a bad way to go.

        Like

  6. Many people find presenting any type of art to the world terrifying and would call you brave. It all depends on the perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

